Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard


Phil is not the only weather forecasting rodent. 
Gilbert and Viola's children, and their children's 
children has relocated all across the nation. 
On National Groundhog Day, they emerge 
from their burrow and predict 
Early Spring or more Winter.








Saturday, July 13, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard

Phil became famous. He was featured in newspapers. and today on computers, TV's and even cell phones.






Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard


Phil made a deal with the Mayor of Punxsutawney.
He would predict Spring and make 
Punxsutawney a famous town.




Saturday, July 6, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard



Phil Decided he wanted a career in weather forecasting 
and decided to move to Punxsutawney, PA.





Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Summer Daze


SUMMER DAZE

A little hot weather inspiration. 
Looking at the hot summer sun though the air conditioned window. 
Doesn't get any better than that!

Sunday, June 30, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard


Phil was very smart. He figured out how to predict Spring.
He taught his brothers and sister how to do it too.


Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Bunny Art


MY BUNNY

Watercolor and ink. 
Working on my paper illustrations 
and decorative backgrounds.
Next time I might try gouache.

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard

Gilbert and Viola had two kids, Phil and Hanna.
Their life in the cemetery changed during the civil war.


Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard


Gilbert loved the picnics, he especially 
loved the gravy and stole the gravy boats too.



Sunday, June 9, 2019

Monday, June 3, 2019

Pink Flamingoes


Tangled Friendship

Ahh, colored pencils, 
my favorite medium. 
I can only go so long before 
I have to go back to them.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Grapes in the Vineyard


GRAPES IN THE VINEYARD

Watercolor and ink.
Not my usual style, no paper, no glue.
Just pure realism. 
I haven't painted like this in many years.

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard


Gilbert and Viola moved to Prospect Hill Cemetery 
and built a burrow for their new family.


Sunday, May 19, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard

Gilbert Groundhog grew up on a
 farm in Pennsylvania. A farm with a farmer 
and dogs who did not want him living there.


Thursday, May 16, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard

Starting a new project. A children's picture book.
Inspired by a groundhog I saw running through 
Prospect Hill Cemetery in York PA.
Groundhogs are not welcome in cemeteries. They dig their burrows underground and undermine the monuments. They collect things that don't belong to them, things from above ground and below ground. But in the big scheme of things, groundhogs have a place in the world. As I watched the groundhog scurry through the graveyard, I thought she looks alot like Punxsutawney Phil. Maybe they were related. But Punxsutawney Phil is trademarked, so I could not write a book about him. But I could write a book about his family . . .

Monday, May 13, 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019

Friday, May 3, 2019

the PROVERBIAL art Journal - by Judy Grupp, available on Amazon.com


a page, the PROVERBIAL art Journal.
page from a sketchbook journal,
 ravens and more ravens drawn with ball point pens.

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Sunday, April 14, 2019

Mini Art Journal - Appreciate Life


The True Secret of HAPPINESS 
lies in taking a 
genuine interest 
in all the 
details of daily life.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Gravy in the Graveyard

Phil is not the only weather forecasting rodent.  Gilbert and Viola's children, and their children's  children has relocate...